Drucken

Exhibition


The photos being exhibited in the doctor´s surgery were taken in the khmer temple districts of Angkor (Cambodia) in 1998. The photographer Christian Müller holds a Masters Degree in Mathematics and works in a leading IT-position in a major Swiss bank … beyond that he is an enthusiastic amateur photographer and passionate traveller particularly in Asian countries.

Pictures per page:

1  2  3  4   | Next | Last >|

Causeway of the Giants Causeway of the Giants
The causeway of the giants was build by Jayavarman VII in the course of the fortification of his new capital Angkor Thom in front of it´s southern gate. 54 giants, deities on one side and demons on the other, are churning the Milk Ocean and hence producing amrita, the nectar of immortality, by means of a naga, a snake-like creature, that was used as churning rope. (Photo: 17.09.1998, Angkor Thom)
The Cambodian Smile The Cambodian Smile
The buddist Bodhisattva (= enlightened being) Lokeshvara (= ruler of the world) sends his famous smile from every Bayon tower in the four directions. After the devastating, but victorious, war of the Khmer empire against the Cham he has replaced Vishnu as state god and is said to bear recemblances to king Jayavarman VII. (Photo: 17.09.1998, Bayon)
Vishnu riding Garuda Vishnu riding Garuda
Relief in the Vishnu temple Prasat Kravan. Vishnu, the Hindu god of preservation, is sitting on the back of his vahana (= mount), the half-man half-eagle "snake-killer" Garuda. (Photo: 22.09.1998, Prasat Kravan)
Lakshmi Lakshmi
This relief of Lakshmi is also located in Prasat Kravan. Lakshmi is the Hindu goddess of wealth, prosperity and wisdom; and the embodiment of beauty and grace. She is also Vishnus shakti, i.e. his female counterpart. (Photo: 22.09.1998, Prasat Kravan)
Vishnus three steps Vishnus three steps
The third relief in the Vishnu temple in Prasat Kravan shows Vishnu in his fifth incarnation outsmarting the virtuous King Bali. Shrunken to a dwarf named Vamana Vishnu has requested three steps of land from Bali for him to live in. Given the promise by the king, Vishnu started to grow … (Photo: 22.09.1998, Prasat Kravan)

Blind Window in the temple of Banteay Srei (= Citadel of Beauty). Angkorean shrines are frequently opened in only one direction, typically to the East. The other three sides featured fake or blind doors to maintain symmetry. Blind windows were often used along otherwise blank walls. (Photo: 18.09.1998, Banteay Srei)

Drucken

Ausstellung


Die in der Praxis ausgestellten Fotografien sind von Christian Müller im Herbst des Jahres 1998 auf einer Kambodscha-Reise in den Khmer-Tempelbezirken von Angkor aufgenommen worden. Christian Müller ist Diplom-Mathematiker und arbeitet in leitender Position in der Informatik einer schweizerischen Grossbank … darüber hinaus ist er leidenschaftlicher Freizeitphotograph und Asien-Reisender.

Bilder pro Seite:

1  2  3  4   | Weiter | Ende >|

Strasse der Riesen Strasse der Riesen
Die Strasse der Riesen wurde von Jayavarman VII. im Rahmen der Befestigung seiner neuen Hauptstadt Angkor Thom vor deren Südtor erbaut. Je 54 Riesen, auf der einen Seite Gottheiten, auf der anderen Dämonen halten eine naga, ein Schlangenwesen, mit welcher sie das Milchmeer quirlen und dabei u.a. das Unsterblichkeitselixir amrita herstellen. (Photo: 17.09.1998, Angkor Thom)
Das Lächeln von Angkor Das Lächeln von Angkor
Der buddhistische Bodhisattva (= Erleuchtetes Wesen) Lokeshvara (= Herrscher der Welt) sendet sein berühmtes Lächeln von jedem der Türme Bayons in alle 4 Himmelsrichtungen. Er hatte nach dem verheerenden − aber siegreichen − Krieg des Khmer-Reiches gegen die Cham Vishnu als Staatsgott ersetzt und soll die Gesichtszüge König Jayavarman VII tragen. (Photo: 17.09.1998, Bayon)
Vishnu reitet auf Garuda Vishnu reitet auf Garuda
Relief aus dem Vishnu-Tempel Prasat Kravan. Vishnu, der hinduistische Gott der Erhaltung, sitzt auf dem Rücken seines vahana (= Reittier), dem halb mensch-, halb adlergestaltigen «Schlangen-Töter» Garuda. (Photo: 22.09.1998, Prasat Kravan)
Lakshmi Lakshmi
Ebenfalls in Prasat Kravan befindet sich dieses Lakshmi-Relief. Lakshmi ist die Göttin des Glücks und der Schönheit, Spenderin von Reichtum und von geistigem Wohlbefinden. Sie ist ausserdem Vishnus shakti, d.h. sein weiblicher Gegenpart. (Photo: 22.09.1998, Prasat Kravan)
Vishnus drei Schritte Vishnus drei Schritte
Das dritte Relief aus dem Vishnu-Tempel Prasat Kravan zeigt Vishnu, wie er in seiner fünften Inkarnation den tugendhaften König Bali überlistet. Zu einem Zwerg namens Vamana geschrumpft erbat er sich von Bali soviel Land, wie er mit drei Schritten erreichen könnte, und dann wuchs er wieder … (Photo: 22.09.1998, Prasat Kravan)
«Blindes Fenster» «Blindes Fenster»
Blindes Säulenfenster im Tempel Banteay Srei (= Zitadelle der Schönheit). Solche Pseudo-Fenster wurden in der Khmer-Architektur häufig eingesetzt, um die architektonische Symmetrie der nur in eine Richtung geöffneten Tempel sicherzustellen. (Photo: 18.09.1998, Banteay Srei)